Author Topic: RGG gat build for the complete beginner  (Read 4702 times)

RGG gat build for the complete beginner
« on: November 22, 2013, 09:39:32 AM »
This thread will chronicle my RGG gat build.  New to machine work all operations will be documented not matter how boring so this thread may not be to everyone’s taste.

Photos of setup and operation will be included. Multiple part machining will only be shown if a clever way to produce the parts is found.

Basic information.  I am new to machine work, only had the lathe and mill a few months.  Lathe – Enco 14x40 308-0232
Mill – Grizzly 9x42 G9901 with DRO (woohoo!)

Tooling, measuring and work holding will be described for each operation.  Writing things down makes me think about it.  Notes allow me to review my processes and learn to be a better machine operator.

Next up is material.  Having read many of the builds (I am not worthy) the decision was made to stick to the RGG material list.  Too ignorant of metallurgy to go mucking about just yet.  The RGG instructions were reviewed many times and a list developed.  Could not figure out a simple way to post the spreadsheet on the forum so a link is provided.

[link_open={http://www.srbain.com/gat/gat.htm}]{RGG Material List}[/link_open]

Note the tabs at the bottom.  They navigate from a per drawing list, an order list, receiving list and finally an idiot list for fractional to decimal conversion.  The spreadsheet can be downloaded here:

http://www.srbain.com/gat/gat material list ver 3.3.xlsx

Note: version numbers may change.  Please report any errors please report so corrections can be made.

« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2013, 12:52:52 AM »
Thank you for that list I had just started one myself.

Looking forward to watching you. Several of us are starting to gather things together and planning to start the build first of next year.

Good Luck and may things machine the way that you want.