Author Topic: Deviding head or rotary table?  (Read 1581 times)

Offline maccrazy2

Deviding head or rotary table?
« on: August 30, 2018, 02:02:27 PM »
Hello all. I am acquiring materials for my build. I have a 9-42 Bridgeport. Would you recommend a deviding head or a rotary table for building a Gatling?

I plan on doing a 22 first and possibly a .357 later on if I am up to it.

I’m leaning towards a deviding head as the angle is adjustable so it would be a little more versatile. However I have never used one so I figured I should ask before purchasing one. Thanks Chris.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2018, 02:41:08 PM by maccrazy2 »

Offline Sparky_NY

« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2018, 08:46:57 PM »

There is another option,  a rotary table with indexing plates which allows it to work similar to a dividing head.  

Offline Cutter

« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2018, 10:35:23 AM »
I recommend a horizontal/vertical rotary table.

That would even cover cutting your cam .

Good luck Chris
« Last Edit: August 31, 2018, 12:20:55 PM by Cutter »

Offline bruski

« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2018, 12:28:53 PM »

HI,

If you absolutely decide on a dividing head over a rotary table with indexing plates, pay a little more for a good one. I got a cheaper super spacer that came with a built in wobble that will haunt you for as long as you have it. There were only a couple of times that I needed an angle other than 90 degrees but that was me.

bruski

Offline maccrazy2

« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2018, 08:30:26 PM »
Thanks guys. I will keep an eye out on Craigslist to see if a rotary table pops up. I plan on making the cam on a CNC machine I have. Most of the rest of the parts will be manual on the mill and lathe. I build custom pool cues and have a dedicated 4 axis inlay machine. I mostly use end mills.032 and smaller down to .008 dia.