Author Topic: Machine(s) Necessary for building Gatling Gun  (Read 1682 times)

Machine(s) Necessary for building Gatling Gun
« on: October 18, 2010, 12:45:13 AM »
Hi, all.  Complete newby here, getting ready to retire.  As a retirement project, I\'m wanting to build a Gatling Gun replica -- not an RGG .22 model (although I will probably purchase plans and photos to get the feel of assembly), but a full scale Model 1900 Gatling.  I plan to make only two alterations to the original specs -- I\'ll shorten the barrels from 32\" to 30\" (with corresponding shortening of the side rails) and will chamber it in 7.62X54R to take advantage of cheap surplus ammo.

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, I took a course in machine shop, but will mainly have to teach myself techniques from machining manuals.  My question is, how much machinery will be required to build all the gun parts?  Will a combo lathe/mill like this one http://www.grizzly.com/products/Combo-Lathe-Mill/G9729 do everything necessary?  I plan to have the carriage made by the Amish near my hometown.

Appreciate any assistance y\'all can provide.  Once I get the hang of this, perhaps I can support fellow enthusiasts with machined parts.

« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2010, 07:12:48 PM »
Yes,  Just barley.  If it were me I would invest in 2 separate machines each designed to do one job.  The machine you are looking at is going to be underpowered for the size of parts you are going to make.  I suggest you look on craigs list and find a used machine that is more substantial and comes with some tooling.  It is easy to get a lot of money rapped up in chucks, vices and tooling.  Any way I to would like to build a full size gatling gun where did you find plans?  Thanks, and good luck......

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2010, 05:20:11 PM »