Author Topic: Dennis & Brian\'s Build  (Read 14132 times)

Dennis & Brian\'s Build
« on: February 18, 2014, 08:35:15 PM »
I started to build the RGG gun last week with my friend Brian. He is a semi-retired machinist so I am really in an apprenticeship program. I am a self-taught home shopper so I am learning a lot about how to do things the right way. I thought it may help others if I post some of the things I pick up during the build. I built the D&E with another home shopper friend up to doing the firing pins. Given all of the problems with the design and all of the polished brass I decide to leave it as a model and build the RGG as a shooter. We are making it of steel. The bolt carrier, barrel plates and ejectors are made from 1144 stress proof.

First, cleanliness and deburring are mandatory. Second, building a good fixture saves a lot of time and makes for accurate parts. We decided to do a one piece bolt carrier so the first thing Brian did was make a fixture out of MIC 6 aluminum tooling plate to hold the bolt carrier and front and rear barrel plates. The fixture, shown below, only had the center hole for the hex sleeve and the .187 hole for the pin when we started making parts. The little plug setting in the lower right front replaces the hex sleeve for the front plate. Brian also circle ground an end mill for cutting the flat bottom holes. It is shown in the second picture and was used instead of a reamer for final size and to get the flat bottom. We need to turn the front of the bolt carrier, cut the flats and the groove to finish it. Oh, did I mention cleanliness and deburring are mandatory?

We did the ejectors individually instead of in a strip and slitting them. This was actually easier than I anticipated. Just time consuming. Of course, DRO’s were a major advantage doing them and especially the bolt circle function with all of the center drilling, drilling and reaming of the bolt carrier and barrel plate parts as well as on the ejectors
More later.