Author Topic: What is your plan for your shop after you pass on?  (Read 1131 times)

Offline maccrazy2

What is your plan for your shop after you pass on?
« on: November 17, 2018, 11:47:06 PM »
Hello everyone. I am working on a plan for my family to deal with my extensive equipment and possessions in the event I meet an untimely demise. I am an auto mechanic by trade and I have a side business building custom pool cues. I have a lot of equipment and hand tools that would be a burden on my family to deal with to cash out of. I have made some videos of me walking thru the shop pointing out what things are and what I paid and what I think would be a realistic fair value used at the current date. I have also spoken to the associated tooling and it’s value.

I have also spoken to a couple friends who are in the same trades about helping out with selling or valuing tools so they could be sold. I am making a list of who my family should contact that I would trust. I don’t know if an auction would be a good idea or piecemeal on eBay or ??

Most things are general use but I do have some highly specialized equipment for the cues that would only attain a good sale price to another cuemaker.

I have life insurance and all that stuff taken care of. I’m mostly concerned about my gun collection and all the tools/equipment. Have any of you done any preplaning?

Offline Cutter

« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2018, 11:00:14 AM »
I would have family members take what they want.

Then have my conservator contact a dealer and take it all.

If it’s stored , it will rust and have little or no value.

Offline bruski

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2018, 03:34:52 PM »

Don\'t go the auction route, they would get next to nothing for the equipment in the end. If they do decide on an auction, have them take the time to place a minimum bid on the good stuff. I buy a lot of nice equipment and tools for very low prices from local estate auctions around here.